Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Kronos Quartet

‘There Aren’t Enough Musicians In The World’

For more than 40 years, San Francisco’s Kronos Quartet—David Harrington (violin), John Sherba (violin), Hank Dutt (viola), and Sunny Yang (cello)—has combined a spirit of fearless exploration with a commitment to continually re-imagining the string quartet experience. In the process, Kronos has become one of the world’s most celebrated and influential ensembles, performing thousands of concerts, releasing more than 50 recordings, collaborating with an eclectic mix of composers and performers, and commissioning over 850 works and arrangements for string quartet. A Grammy winner, Kronos also received the Polar Music Prize and the Avery Fisher Prize. The non-profit Kronos Performing Arts Association (KPAA) manages all aspects of Kronos’ work, including the commissioning of new works, concert tours and home-season performances, education programs, and its new presenting program KRONOS PRESENTS. In 2015 KPAA launched a new 5-year commissioning and education initiative, Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire, which will commission 50 new works (5 by women and 5 by men each year) designed to train students and emerging professionals, and be distributed online for free.

No comments:

Post a Comment